forward motion

One of the things I struggle with sometimes is that while I’m glad that God is moving in my life and teaching me things, and I know that he needed me to be where I am right now in life, I am upset that he’s not putting other people through the same process in the same way. Am I the only one who needs to be growing right now? Certainly not. Why can’t I have a more comfortable growing process then? I see others in situations I would far rather be in. Is God giving them the easy way out? Do they just not need to grow as much as I do? It’s hard to trust that God is doing the right thing when he’s doing things in a way I’m not comfortable with. I know that in his infinite wisdom, his plan is better than mine, and he uses all things for his glory. Sometimes I just wonder, though, if what serves him best also ends up with me being unhappy. Am I then unhappy simply because my priorities aren’t straight? I’m not sure. I guess I don’t really know that God’s goal in our lives is happiness. Say, for example, that it serves God’s glory to destroy the entire city of Minneapolis except me, and in the long run I learn and grow in him, perhaps that would bring him glory, but I don’t think I could be happy with the circumstances. I may be happy with the growth that comes from those circumstances, but I don’t think God would expect anyone to be happy with those kinds of circumstances. I guess I’m not really sure that God’s goal is for us to be happy, and maybe that’s not what we should be hoping for. I know God has been really pushing things around in me lately, and I’m glad to see that he’s moving in me. It’s just sometimes hard to see him work and not know what his plan is. 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

